March 17, 2016, 25 West 3rd

By: badkins55

Mar 17 2016

Tags: ,

Category: Frederick, Maryland

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/11
Focal Length:70mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/160 sec
Camera:Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Today’s photo might have included a man who only wears a kilt once a year or maybe a woman with a shamrock painted on her cheek.  Either would have been found in front of a bar in the Historic District.  And either would have probably been a bit rowdy, hooting at me and raising a fist in the air in a good natured way as I made my daily photo.

But Tim saved me from all of that.

I had parked my car (a feat in itself this evening) and I was walking towards one of only one or two watering holes that was enjoying the late afternoon sunlight when I passed Tim enjoying that same sunlight while giving his mandolin an airing.  The sounds from the mandolin, that glorious light, the shadows and those amazing colors made me stop for a photo.

And in that way Tim saved me from the bar scene on St. Patrick’s Day in the Historic District.  I can’t thank him enough.

Full disclosure:  I made a very similar of Tim on the same stoop playing a guitar a few years ago.  But this light was just too luscious to pass by.  (And I really did not want to get hooted at.)

Leave a Reply

